回到神身边

回到神身边

 
当前位置: >> 回到神身边

回到神身边

我是独子。我生性客观、独立、不容易动感情。尽管被一个非凡的基督徒母亲养大,我在少年时代就排斥基督教。到我离家上大学时,我已经全然游离在和神的关系之外了。

我花了20年时间一心追求个人的成就和世俗的成功。在乔治城我主修财经,在牛津学习比较商业,在伯克利获得法律学位,在典型的玻璃塔楼的法律公司工作,创办了自己的技术法律公司,还在一个高速发展的电信公司任管理职务。对我来说,生活就是自我和成功。我没有时间考虑属灵或情感的事情,我驾控的是稳定和自我的飞机—而且我喜欢这样。

当妈妈在1995年被诊断为乳癌时,我自动落入了自己的自然状态中。我拿出了精力、积极态度和知识方面的安慰。我关注痊愈是必然的胜利,忽略每日治疗的痛苦。如我母亲所料,我不让自己多愁善感,而是专心做好一个有着不屈的积极态度的、意志坚强的独子。

1999年10月5号,一切都开始改变了。妈妈经历了又一轮化疗后,等着拿检验结果的日期。她给我打电话,问我是否要和她一起去见她的肿瘤专家。(我母亲已经知道每次检验报告和讨论今后治疗方案时要多带一个人。) 因为她丈夫鲍勃不能去,我同意请一个上午的假陪我妈妈去“搜集信息”。

我坐在那里听着,我的心沉到了谷底。片刻间,我那无动于衷的积极态度开始崩溃了。我听到医生说妈妈的癌症升级而且可供选择的治疗方案越来越少。当肿瘤专家和我母亲谈论继续治疗和生活品质的利弊时,我尽力不让自己的感情决堤。

但它最终还是来了…


疾病的现实、预后的现实、越来越少治疗选择的现实、我挚爱的妈妈正在忍受这种真正疼痛的现实、生命的现实、死亡的现实。突然之间,我感到无助和孤独。我对妈妈的病情感到震惊,为她未卜的未来感到难过。就在那时那地,我意识到,除了需要用所谓的智力和积极态度来隐藏感觉外,我需要更多。

医生走后,母亲看着我的眼睛,直视我的内心。她伸出手来抓住我的手。她祷告—我却哭了。(事实上,除了节日聚餐我的随便祷告之外,这是20年来我第一次祷告,这也是几乎20年来我第一次哭。)

阅读 回到神身边 Page 2


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


崇拜

基督徒的遗产
属灵成长
祷告的力量
出生的奇迹
婴儿奉献
自由意志
神的应许
神的时机是完美的
不要害怕
Additional Content To Explore...

团契
门徒训练
事工
宣道
 
 
科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
在神中成长
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
搜索
 
Add 回到神身边 to My Google!
Add 回到神身边 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 回到神身边
主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutHeart.org, 保留所有权利。

A Return To God

A Return to God

I am an only child. By nature, I am very objective, independent, and non-emotional. Although raised by a remarkable Christian mother, I started rejecting Christianity when I was a teenager. By the time I left home for college, I had totally wandered away from any form of relationship with God.

I spent over 20 years focusing on personal achievement and secular success. I majored in finance at Georgetown, studied comparative business at Oxford, received my law degree from Berkeley, worked in stereotypical glass-towered law firms, started my own technology law practice, and served in management for a high-growth telecommunications company. To me, life was about self and success. I didnít have time for spiritual or emotional things. I operated on a stable and selfish plane -- and I liked it that way.

When my mother was diagnosed with breast cancer in 1995, I automatically dropped into my natural state. I provided energy, positivism, and intellectual counsel. I focused on the inevitable victory of recovery, rather than the daily drudgery of treatment. As my mother probably expected, I removed myself from the emotional, and concentrated on my role as the strong-willed only child with the unyielding positive attitude.

On October 5, 1999, everything began to change. My mother had just endured another round of chemotherapy, and she was scheduled to get her test results. She called and asked if I would attend the visit with her oncologist. (My mother had learned to always bring two sets of ears when test results and future treatment options were discussed.) Since her husband, Bob, was unable to attend, I agreed to take a morning off work to help my mom ďcollect information.Ē

As I sat and listened, the bottom of my stomach dropped to the floor. In an instant, my detached positivism started to shake at the seams. I listened as we were told about elevated cancer markers and a diminishing list of treatment alternatives. I was trying to get my emotional bearings, as the oncologist and my mother were talking about the tradeoff between ongoing treatment and quality of life.

Then it finally hit. . .

The reality of the disease, the reality of the prognosis, the reality of fewer and fewer treatment options, the reality that this was my precious mother enduring this real pain, the reality of life, and the reality of death. All of a sudden, I felt very awkward and alone. I was shocked by the truth of my motherís disease and emotional about her uncertain future. It was then and there that I realized I needed to do more than mask feelings with supposed intellect and positivism.

After the doctor left, my mother looked into my eyes and saw right down to my heart. She reached out and grabbed my hand. She prayed -- I cried. (Actually, other than casual prayers before holiday meals, this was the first time I had prayed in over 20 years. It was also the first time I had cried in nearly as long.)

Read A Return To God Page 2 Now!

WHAT DO YOU THINK? - We have all sinned and deserve God's judgment. God, the Father, sent His only Son to satisfy that judgment for those who believe in Him. Jesus, the creator and eternal Son of God, who lived a sinless life, loves us so much that He died for our sins, taking the punishment that we deserve, was buried, and rose from the dead according to the Bible. If you truly believe and trust this in your heart, receiving Jesus alone as your Savior, declaring, "Jesus is Lord," you will be saved from judgment and spend eternity with God in heaven.

What is your response?

Yes, today I am deciding to follow Jesus

Yes, I am already a follower of Jesus

I still have questions

Facebook   YouTube   Twitter   Google+   RSS Feed

Join our Christian social network at AllAboutGOD.NET!