致神的信——信心

致神的信——信心

 
当前位置: >> 致神的信——信心

致神的信——信心


“结束赛跑”

1994年,我儿子兰德尔爱上了狄波拉并娶了她。之前很多年我一直为儿子未来的妻子祷告,狄波拉一切都符合我的期望。这时我也发现了自己的真爱。兰德尔和狄波拉婚礼前两个月我嫁给鲍勃。我很开心。我有着爱我的丈夫,一间有海景的公寓,儿子和爱妻住在附近,还有一个积极的生活,我教五年级的天才班,参加教堂活动,带领一个史蒂芬事奉班等,同时还每天和鲍勃一起散步、游泳、骑自行车。

六个月后,我被诊断为乳癌。经过乳房切除、重造和每天服用防止复发的荷尔蒙药物,我把自己的癌症看作是生命路上的一个颠簸。但是当1997年乳癌转移到脊椎的时候,我知道时日有限了。只有神知道我的时限,而他的时机选择是完美的。所以我相信他会在这最后几年中让我看到他的美妙计划将在我爱的那些人身上实现。我已经接受了八种不同的化疗,四种荷尔蒙治疗,还有两轮的放射治疗—而我绝对是蒙福的。

我蒙福看到我的三个孙子来到这个世界,并能了解神把他们造成独特的人。我希望在他们长大庆祝成功和特殊事件时能在他们的身旁,我对他们在一个基督教家庭里成长感到安慰和放心。

最大的福气就是看到兰德尔在二十年的质疑、不可知论甚至无神论后有重新相信耶稣基督的信心。作为信主的母亲,我多年的热切祷告就是我的儿子能成为“神的英才”,他知道神如何做工,圣灵如编舞者一样“为爱神和凭神的旨意受到呼召的人成就最好”。

---------


致神的信—我是谁?
(1994年9月)

我是谁?

我是失去救主的基督徒。
我受使命指引,而非受人指引。
我自给自足并且独立。
我是教师。
我服事神,有时疲惫。
对某些特殊的人来说,
我是妻子、母亲、祖母、
姐妹、女儿、侄女和朋友。

主啊,你在我身上看到什么?

我的孩子,我看到一个可贵的人,那样努力地要掌控一切,所以失去了我给她的许多喜乐和自由。放松些,让我来做,享受并学习新东西—成长。我对你和鲍勃的生活有美妙的计划。

我在哪些方面需要改变?

我需要更有味。主啊,给我温柔的心。我需要放手,让神为我安排,敞开胸怀经历神的惊喜和喜乐。主啊,请打开我,让我学习,让圣灵通过我成事。帮我用你的爱去感动他人。


---------


来自神的信—相信我
(1997年某日)

通过试炼赞美我。

更清楚地认识我。

找时间和我安静相处。

通过信我找到平安。

对我的圣灵敞开胸怀,为了我向他人传福音。


---------


致神的信—静思
(1997年某日)

你将得胜。

你给我们所有。

你是全能。

谁能质疑你?

你比我们伟大得多的多。

你制造奇迹。

你是伟大的造物主(人的一切皆为虚空)。

你是荣耀的—你令我不至跌倒。


---------


致神的信—谦卑
(1998年1月)

亲爱的神:

新年伊始。1998年会给我带来什么?

    痛苦和祝福,生命和死亡,极大的心灵成长,爱他人,为他人,承受之力,面对试炼的勇气,对未来的热情,和一个更新的信心。


神,感谢你陪我度过化疗期。感谢你带给我随之而来的福。

    用全心全灵寻求神的人必寻见他。


神的话语离我很近—当我学习《圣经》时,在我口,我心。

    如果基督徒谦卑、祷告,寻求神、远离人的恶行,神必垂听,赦免他的罪,并医治他们的地。神在听!


    神选择接近神的人并赐福他。如果你相信自己的心,用口悔改,你必得救。


我们因着对耶稣基督的信可以自信地大胆进取。耶稣能感到我们的软弱之处,因为他也曾为人,所以我们可以大胆来到宝座前,在需要时找到怜悯和恩典。

    你会叫那心倚靠你的她永在平安里,因她信你。永远信靠主,因永恒的力量在神里面。


你要我在剩下的日子里做什么?

    等候主。要有胆量,我会坚固你的心。

    如鹰展翅上腾,奔跑却不困倦,行走却不疲乏。

    学会数算你的日子,然后可以专心求聪明。

    神让万物按它们的时刻呈现美丽。


谢谢你陪着我,谢谢你的关心、怜悯和恩典。

爱你的,南希

---------


致神的信—爱
(1998年2月)


亲爱的神:

退休前的33年中,我一直在忙碌着教学和寻找治疗我的癌症的方法。我知道对你医治的信心就是最好的方法。对不起,我一直以其它方法为先。请指引我,给我平安,并帮我把你的慈爱和平安传递给他人。我因你打开我的退休之门而心怀感激。

主,原谅我离开了我的初爱—你。我认为你总是在那里为我,所以想当然。我觉得我对自己和癌症抗争感到困惑和愤怒。不要丢弃我。当我跌倒的时候我需要你在我身边扶我站起。

我爱你,南希

---------


致神的信—退休
(1998年8月)


亲爱的神:

退休前的33年中,我一直在忙碌着教学和寻找治疗我的癌症的方法。我知道对你医治的信心就是最好的方法。对不起,我一直以其它方法为先。请指引我,给我平安,并帮我把你的慈爱和平安传递给他人。我因你打开我的退休之门而心怀感激。

主,原谅我离开了我的初爱—你。我认为你总是在那里为我,所以想当然。我觉得我对自己和癌症抗争感到困惑和愤怒。不要丢弃我。当我跌倒的时候我需要你在我身边扶我站起。

我爱你,南希

---------


致神的信—希望
(1999年2月)


神,我在58岁生日后的早晨醒来,渴望给你写信。但我找不到我的新日记本了,所以在黑暗中我抓到了这本旧的,发现了多年来你给我的珍贵应许和指引。

一年前,我害怕我撑不到这个生日,但我过来了,--而且感觉“良好”。我的癌病专家甚至说我在一年的化疗放疗后“效果良好”。他把这归功于化疗、祷告和我们的夏威夷之旅。我觉得爱也有很大作用。

这个生日的周末很愉快。我本来想逃开,可是我最爱的都在这里。鲍勃和我在我58岁生日前夜吃了浪漫的水上晚餐。然后鲍勃参加的教堂唱诗班唱了“一种信仰,一个希望,一份爱”,有那么多值得我感谢,尤其是兰蒂也来教堂和你说话。最后,还和孙儿们一起吃生日晚餐共享喜乐和拥抱。这么多祝福……!

谢谢你关心我的姑妈乔,在她最后的日子将她带到你那里—我已放下,交给你。谢谢你让我拥有妹妹及其家人的爱。我不知你对妈妈的生活有何安排,但我知道你爱她并有计划。请伴随在她左右。谢谢你让我有家人的爱。

和你相处的这个平静时刻很珍贵。这是只要我寻求就可以得到的恩赐。帮我向你和你的爱敞开我自己—在你为我所定的在尘世的日子完成你的旨意,直到我回天家与你在一起。

---------


致神的信—感恩
(1999年12月)


亲爱的神:

因我的癌症谢谢你 –你在掌控并且爱我。你知道什么对我和我爱的人是最好。你有计划。帮我相信你并成为你计划的一部分。

神,谢谢你如此爱我们,将你的爱子耶稣基督派来,在地上生活、教我们关于神,然后为赦免我们的罪而死。

谢谢你让我有机会成为母亲(那是令人惊叹的职责)。谢谢你在我许多缺点中仍不离不弃。用癌症帮我教兰德尔关于神,并让癌症对我的继子女和孙儿们、丈夫、姑妈、妈妈、妹妹及其家人还有朋友还有我遇到的每个人产生神圣的影响。

谢谢你用癌症做我的老师—让我放慢脚步接触你。帮我把癌症看作老师,看作从中学习然后继续前行的冒险。祝福鲍勃和兰德尔及支持我的家人和朋友们同我一起经历这冒险。让我们坚强地克服自身弱点,坚固地倚靠你。

谢谢你给我这么多福分。多到不胜枚举。帮我埋葬已被你宽恕和遗忘的过去罪恶的鬼怪。帮我看到并坦白每日的罪,让我可以更好展现基督之爱,并能更有力地为你所用。

爱你的,南希

---------


致神的信—敬畏
(2000年3月)


亲爱的神:

我给你写这封信,告诉你我多爱你。

我爱你因为你爱我在先。你如此爱我,让你的儿子来到地上照亮我的道路,告诉我如何通过信你的儿子耶稣基督成为你的儿女。谢谢你选择我—因你的怜悯和恩典让我做你的女儿。谢谢你让我睁开双眼、柔软内心,来接受你的真理、你的仁爱。

我对你感激不尽,因你用神子的宝血使我称义,令我可以将你看作爸爸并自由地与你交谈,而有一天我会站在你面前,完全被宽恕和洗净了我的罪恶和叛逆本性。你是如此圣洁、公义和可畏,所以我除了来跪拜在你的宝座前之外没有别的选择。我无法配得上这种荣耀。只有通过你的恩典我才可以进入你的光中。

我是这样的一个人,而你依然爱我。谢谢你造我如此并给我信主的父母,他们从我九岁开始就教我走你的路。谢谢你丰盛的恩典,足以让我知道你为我的人生制定的计划并顺服你的旨意。

主,当我走自己的路而未寻求你的路时,请原谅我。当我骄傲于自己的成绩而未感恩时,请原谅我。谢谢你使我谦卑,能够看到你在我生命中的作用。对不起,我有时会寻求他人的赞扬,而不是荣耀你。

谢谢你,当我需要时赐我你的智慧。帮我不要做随风漂流的海浪,被世事困扰。帮我不要三心二意,不要走世俗的路,而只走你的路。

谢谢你用我和我的故事传递给他人你的爱和福音。周一请用你的圣灵充满我,那样我就可以说出你的话语,而不是我自己的话。请带来那个你想要触动其心的人,在基督教外宣周时听我讲话,用我来打动她。

你是充满仁爱、恩典和令人敬畏的神,我爱你.

以你的恩典,南希

---------


致神的信—成长
(2001年1月)


神:

癌症让我知道我在世上的时日无多。我不想浪费我的时间做无用的事。我决定花时间去做能帮我成长更象基督的事情。神,我把我的时间给你。

你的女儿,南希

---------


致神的信—祝福
(2002年2月)


主:

今天是我60岁生日!!我没有觉得变老。而是蒙你的福仍然在世。我知道我的日子屈指可数,而你是唯一知道我还会在这世上停留多久的。我如此感激,你让我活到可以了解我的孙儿们、可以看到我的儿子儿媳在对你的爱中成长、可以完成我的回忆录并事奉其他罹患癌症的人。我也感谢你允许我和鲍勃在一起,而不是在他的悲剧中再添加失去一个爱人。

爱你的,南希

---------


神的低语
(2001年9月11日)


凌晨4:30,有个声音轻声叫着我的名字:“南希”,我醒了。主在我脑中叫着我的名字,轻声把我从熟睡中叫醒。尽管神已经几次在半夜把我叫醒,让我去为一些后来证明需要祷告的事情祷告,我以前从没听到过他叫我的名字。我跪在床边。在这个圣地我需要脱鞋,因为我已经赤着双脚。

“南希,我要祝福你。我要大大祝福你!让我通过你讲话,我要通过你讲话。” 神决定要通过我说话,我觉得荣耀又自卑。我请求可以毫无障碍地通过圣灵听到神的引导和话语。我觉得我需要和神更亲近相处。

亲爱的主,我相信你要做你应许的事。我感谢你,你让得了癌症本该辞世的我可以一直治疗七年。我感谢你给我的一切!你想要怎样用我?或许你想要对我的社区圣经学习班的新核心小组说话,通过我,或是这本我和儿子想要合写的《浪子的祷告》,或是在我两周后给唱诗班做见证的时候。

我的思想上了发条,可是我却不听主的声音。

我本来应该跪地请求神,神需要的是祷告,而不是写日记或是回到舒适的床上睡觉。我错过了神对我的一次祝福。在早上7点,儿子让我打开CNN频道。他说:“战争来了!世贸中心和五角大楼被炸了!”

鲍勃和我谁也无法相信这些。我们看着电视上反复播放的恐怖画面,满载的美国飞机被劫持,撞入世贸中心的双塔,然后到处是人的双塔相继垮塌,烟雾弥漫了整个曼哈顿的天空。第三架飞机撞进五角大楼,划开一道口子,又使很多美国人死亡。而本来目标是大卫营或是白宫的第四架飞机,就在匹兹堡外坠毁,机上人员全部罹难。

我无语。我穿好衣服去社区圣经学习领导培训会。鲍勃握着我的手,为我们的国家、总统、伤者和那些死者的家人,也为那些犯下暴行的人祷告,词句优美。我却不能祷告。我到了培训会,第一个小时我们跪下来祷告,可是我还是说不出话来。差不多一整天我都震惊着,觉得无法说出或是祷告任何有意义的事。我只能听周围的人哭泣或是意味深长地祷告。

我祷告明天神能让我开口,向被选来我这个核心小组的第十五个女人讲话。我祷告我们可以一起从这个悲剧中痊愈。我祷告这个悲惨的日子会让我们国家史无前例地紧密联合,并回到使我们国家坚固的信仰中去。

耶和华是我的岩石,我的山寨,我的救主,
我的神,我的磐石,我所投靠的。
他是我的盾牌,是拯救我的角,是我的高台。

(诗篇18:2)


继续读!


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


崇拜

神的应许
浪子的故事
神的祝福
祷告的力量
致神的信—喜乐
致神的信——信心
回到神身边
《给神的信—恐惧》
Additional Content To Explore...

团契
门徒训练
事工
宣道
 
 
科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
在神中成长
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
搜索
 
Add 致神的信——信心 to My Google!
Add 致神的信——信心 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 致神的信——信心
主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutHeart.org, 保留所有权利。

Letters to God - Faith

allaboutheart
LETTERS TO GOD – FAITH


“FINISHING THE RACE”

In 1994, my son, Randall, fell in love with Debra and married her. I had been praying for his wife for years, and Debra matched my every hope. I, too, found my true love at this time. I married Bob two months before Randall and Debra’s wedding. I was so happy. I had a loving husband, an apartment with a view of the ocean, my son and his darling wife living nearby, and an active life between teaching a fifth grade gifted class, church activities such as leading a Stephen Ministry class, and daily walking, swimming or biking with Bob.

Six months later, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. After a mastectomy, breast reconstruction, and daily hormone medication to prevent a recurrence, I treated my cancer as just a bump in the road of life. However, when the breast cancer metastasized to my spine in 1997, I knew my days were numbered. Only God knew the number and His timing is perfect. So I put my trust in Him and He gave me these last years to see His wonderful plan being worked out in the lives of those I love. I have had eight different types of chemotherapy, four types of hormone treatments, and two rounds of radiation – and I have been absolutely blessed.

I have been blessed to see all three of my grand babies come into this world and to get to know each of them as unique individuals created by God. I wish I could be around as they grow to celebrate their successes and special occasions with them, but I am comforted and assured to know they are being raised in a Christian home.

The greatest blessing of all has been to witness Randall’s return to a believing faith in Jesus Christ after twenty years of questioning, agnosticism, and even atheism. As a believing mother, my fervent prayer over the years was that my son would become a “great man of God.” Who knows how God works, but His Holy Spirit is like a choreographer “working everything for good for those who love Him and have been called according to His purpose.”

---------


Letter to God – Who Am I?
(September 1994)

Who Am I?

I’m a Christian who has lost my savor.
I am task oriented, not people oriented.
I am self sufficient and independent.
I am a teacher.
I serve God and get weary.
I am a wife, mother, grandmother,
sister, daughter, niece and friend
to some very special people.

Lord, What do You See in Me?

My child, I see a precious person who tries so hard to keep everything under her control that she is missing much of the joy and freedom I have for her. Relax, let me do it, enjoy, learn new things – grow. I have a wonderful plan for your life and Bob’s.

Where Do I Need to Change?

I need to become more spicy! Lord, give me a tender heart. I need to let go and let God, and be open to experiencing His surprises and joy. Open me, Lord, to being a learner and to allowing the Holy Spirit to work through me. Help me to touch others with your love.


---------


Letter from God – Trust Me
(Sometime in 1997)

Praise Me through trial.

See My bigger picture.

Find quiet times with Me.

Find peace by trusting Me.

Be open to My Holy Spirit to reach others for Me.


---------


Letter to God -- Reflections
(Sometime in 1997)

You will triumph.

You give us what we have.

You are all-powerful.

Who can question You?

You are so much greater than us.

You work wonders.

You are the great Creator (everything of man is vanity).

You are glorious – You keep me from falling.


---------


Letter to God – Humility
(January 1998)

Dear God,

It’s the beginning of a new year. What will 1998 hold for me?

    Pain and blessings, life and death, spiritual growth unbounded, love of others and for others, strength to endure, courage to face trials, enthusiasm about the future, and a renewed faith.


God, thank you for being with me through chemotherapy. Thank you for the blessings that are coming as a result.

    Anyone who seeks God with all his heart and all his soul will find Him.


The word of God is very near – in my mouth and in my heart when I study the Bible.

    If Christians humble themselves, pray, seek God’s face, and turn from their wicked ways, God will hear, forgive their sins, and heal their land. God listens!


    Blessed is the person God chooses to approach Him. If you believe in your heart and confess with your mouth, you will be saved.


We have bold access with confidence by faith in Jesus Christ. Jesus can feel our infirmities because He was man, so we can boldly come to the throne and find mercy and grace to help in times of need.

    Thou wilt keep her in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on Thee, because she trusts in Thee. Trust in the Lord forever; for in God is everlasting strength.


What do You want me to do with the rest of my life?

    Wait on the Lord. Be of good courage, and I will strengthen your heart.

    Mount up with wings like eagles, run and not be weary, walk and not faint.

    Learn to number your days, that you may apply your heart unto wisdom.

    God makes everything beautiful in its time.


Thank you for being there, for caring, and for Your mercy and grace,

Love, Nancy

---------


Letter to God – Love
(February 1998)


Dear God,

Give me the strength to face further cancer treatments. Help me see ways to use this painful time to pray with feeling for others.

Thank you for Randall. Through my love for him, I know how much You love me.

Nancy

---------


Letter to God – Retirement
(August 1998)


Dear God,

I’ve been busy in the process of retiring from 33 years of teaching and searching for alternative cures for my cancer. I know that my faith in Your healing power is my best alternative. I’m sorry my priorities have focused on other methods of healing. Please guide me, give me Your peace, and help me reach out to others with Your love and peace. I am thankful that You opened the doors to my retirement.

Forgive me, Lord, for leaving my first love -- You. I’ve been taking You for granted, knowing You are always there for me. I guess I’m confused and angry about my battle with cancer. Do not forsake me. I need You beside me to hold me up when I stumble.

I love You, Nancy

---------


Letter to God – Hope
(February 1999)


I awoke early on the morning after my 58th birthday with a craving to write to you, God. But I couldn’t find my new journal and in the dark I grabbed this old one and found precious promises and guidance you’ve given me over the years.

A year ago, I feared I might not make it to this birthday and here I am – and feeling “good.” My oncologist even said I was “doing good” this month after over a year of chemotherapy and radiation. He credited chemo, prayer and our cruise to Hawaii. I also think love has a lot to do with my healing.

What a wonderful birthday weekend. I had wanted to get away, but everything I love most was right here. Bob and I had a romantic dinner on the water on the eve of my 58th. Then church with Bob in the choir singing, “One Faith, One Hope, One Love,” and so much to be thankful for, especially Randall attending church and talking to you. And finally, all the joys and hugs of a birthday dinner with the grandbabies. So many blessings…

Thank you for caring for my aunt Jo and bringing her to you in her end times – once I let go, and let you. Thank you for my sister’s love and that of her family. I don’t understand what you are doing in mom’s life, but I know you love her and that you have a plan. Please be very close to her. Thank you for my family’s love.

This quiet time with you is precious. It is a gift that is always available if I will seek it. Help me to open myself to you and your love – to do your will with the days you have ordained for me to live upon this earth until I go home to be with you.

---------


Letter to God – Thanksgiving
(December 1999)


Dear God,

Thank you for my cancer – You are in control and you do love me. You know what is best for me and my loved ones. You have a plan. Help me to trust in you and be part of your plan.

Thank you, God, for loving us enough to send your precious son, Jesus Christ, to live, to teach us about you, and to die in order to give us forgiveness for our sins.

Thank you for the opportunity to be a mother (and the awesome responsibility that is). Thank you for being there in the midst of my many shortcomings. Use my cancer to help me teach Randall about you and to be a Godly influence in the lives of my stepchildren and grandkids and husband and aunt and mom and sister and her family and friends and everyone I meet.

Thank you for using cancer as a teacher for me – to slow me down and put me in touch with you. Help me see cancer as a teacher and an adventure to learn from and then go on. Bless Bob and Randall and my supportive family and friends as they go through this adventure with me. Make us strong through our weakness and our dependence on you.

Thank you for your many blessings. They are too numerous to count. Help me to bury the ghosts of sins past, which you have forgiven and forgotten. And help me to see and confess my daily sins, so I can better mirror Christ’s love and be used more mightily by you.

Love, Nancy

---------


Letter to God – Awe
(March 2000)


Dear God,

I am writing this letter to tell you how much I love you.

I love you because you first loved me. You loved me so much that you sent your son to earth to light my way and to show me how to be your child through faith in Jesus Christ, your son. Thank you for choosing me – for your mercy and grace to adopt me as your daughter. Thank you for opening my eyes and softening my heart to accept your truth and your love.

I can never thank you enough for justifying me through the blood of your son, so that I may talk freely with you as my daddy and someday stand before you as perfectly forgiven and cleansed from my sinful nature and disobedience. You are so holy and righteous and awesome that there is no other way I could dare to come and kneel before your throne. There is nothing I could do to deserve this honor. It is only by your grace that I can come into the light of your presence.

I am what I am, and yet you love me. Thank you for creating me just as I am and for giving me Christian parents, who from age nine, taught me your ways. Thank you for your abounding grace, which is all-sufficient to help me know your plan for my life and to be obedient to do your will.

Lord, forgive me when I go my own way and do not seek your path. Forgive me when I am proud of my own works and do not give you the credit. Thank you for humbling me so I can see you working in my life. I am sorry for the times I seek the praise of others, rather than honoring you.

Thank you for giving me your wisdom when I ask. Help me not to be like a wave of the sea, driven with the wind and tossed by the problems of this world. Help me not to be double-minded, but to follow in your ways, rather than in the ways of the world.

Thank you for using me and my story to reach out to others with your love and your Gospel. Fill me with your Holy Spirit on Monday so I may speak your words, not my own. Bring that one person to my talk for Christian Outreach Week whose heart you want touched, and use me to touch her.

You are a loving, merciful and awesome God, and I love you.

In your grace, Nancy

---------


Letter to God – Growth
(January 2001)


God,

Cancer has made me aware that my time on earth is temporary. I don’t want to waste my days with meaningless activities. I want to choose to spend my time doing things that will help me to grow more Christ-like. God, I give you my time.

Your child, Nancy

---------


Letter to God – Blessing
(February 2001)


Lord,

Today was my 60th birthday! I can’t believe I’m 60!! I don’t feel old. But I feel blessed by You to be alive. I know my days are numbered and that You are the only one who knows how many days I have left here on earth. I am so thankful that You have chosen to let me live this long so I can get to know my grandchildren, see my son and daughter-in-law grow in their love of You, finish my memoirs, and minister to others with cancer. I am also thankful that You have allowed me to be here for Bob, rather than adding another lost loved one to his tragedies.

Love, Nancy

---------


God’s Whisper
(September 11, 2001)


I was awakened at 4:30 a.m. by a voice whispering my name, “Nancy.” The Lord was gently waking me from a deep sleep by speaking my name inside my head. Although God has awakened me in the middle of the night on several occasions and I have been led to pray for specific things that later proved to need prayer, I had not heard Him speak my name before. I fell to my knees beside my bed. I did not need to take off my shoes in this holy place, because my feet were already bare.

“Nancy, I am going to bless you. I am going to bless you out of your socks! Let Me speak through you and I will speak through you.” I felt honored and humbled that God would choose to speak through me. I pray that I will be open to His leading and His words through the Holy Spirit. I feel that I need to get on more intimate terms with Him.

Dear Lord, I feel confident that You will do what You have promised. I am on borrowed time and am thankful that You have allowed me to live with cancer and the treatments for seven years. I thank You for everything! How do You wish to use me? Perhaps You will speak through me to my new core group at Community Bible Study, or through the book, Prayers for a Prodigal, that my son and I are looking to write together, or when I tell my story to the choir in two weeks...

My mind is in high gear, but I am no longer listening to the Lord.

I should have stayed on my knees asking God who needed prayer instead of writing in my journal and retreating to my cozy bed and sleep. I missed a blessing God had for me. At 7:00 a.m., my son called to tell us to turn on CNN. He said, “We are at war! The World Trade Center and the Pentagon have been bombed!”

Bob and I sat in disbelief as we watched the horror repeated over and over on TV as hijacked United States airliners full of passengers crashed into the towers of the trade center and then the towers, full of people, fell one by one, and smoke billowed into the sky over Manhattan. A third plane crashed into the Pentagon causing a huge gash and again killing many Americans. While a fourth plane, with Camp David or the White House as its target, crashed outside Pittsburgh killing all aboard.

I was speechless. I dressed to go to my training meeting to be a leader at Community Bible Study. Bob held my hands and said a beautiful prayer for our country, our president, the injured and the families of all those who had died, as well as for the perpetrators of this horror. I could not pray. I went to the training meeting where we spent the first hour on our knees praying, but again I could not speak. I am in shock most of the day and find it hard to say or pray anything meaningful. I just listen as those around me weep and pray eloquently.

I pray that God will give me words tomorrow for the fifteen women He has chosen to be in my core group and that, together, we will heal from this tragedy. I pray that this tragic day will unite our country as never before and that we will return to the faith that has made our country strong.

The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my savior;
My God is my rock in whom I find protection.
He is my shield, the strength of my salvation, and my stronghold.

(Psalm 18:2)


Keep Reading!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?